In Fall 2015, Portland Community College embraced a revised structure for our Accessibility Committees, bringing a greater level of organization and shared responsibility to the forefront and confirming an expectation for stakeholders to play active roles.


Historically PCC has utilized an ADA Committee to ensure compliance with requirements for accessibility of the built environment, but in order to ensure our college is truly “accessible” we need to look not only at our facilities, parking, and transportation, but also at our technology use and campus climate.There have been positive efforts applied in many areas including distance education and the library, however we need to be effective in documenting our good faith efforts, and the work that had been occurring was not necessarily engaging a full cross-section of our college.

The new structure includes a steering committee to oversee the efforts of the accessible built environment committee, the digital environment committee, and a college culture committee (coming soon).The goal is to provide more structure for existing efforts and ensure alignment with guidance coming from the Office of Civil Rights. It is clear form legal decisions made over the last several years that when it comes to access, the “individual accommodation” response is not enough. Public colleges need a plan for “program access” and the structures to carry out and monitor the plan.


 GroupChairs MembershipExamples of Efforts 
Steering Committee
  • Maria Mendez, ADA Coordinator
  • Kaela Parks, Director of Disability Services
  • Cheryl Scott, Dean of Instruction
  • Heather Lang, Dean of Student Development
  • Alex Baldino, Equity and Inclusion
  • Donna Bezio, Facilities
  • Rebecca Ocken, Bond
  • Wendy Palmer, Disability Services
  • Luis Menchu, Web Team
  • Phyllis Petteys, Disability Services
  • Heather Guevara, Distance Learning
  • Michael Northover, Chief Information Officer
  • Rob Gabris, Risk Manager
  • Additional Stakeholders TBD
  • Compliance Monitoring
  • Recommendations

Accessible Built Environment 
Formerly ADA Committee

  • Donna Bezio, Facilities
  • Wendy Palmer, Disability Services (Lead Co-Chair)
  • Kevin Crowley, Risk Management
  • Jody Griffin, Bond
  • Sgt.Dean Halley, Public Safety
  • Julie Mast, Facilities
  • Kathy McMullen, Transportation
  • Steven Morse, Facilities
  • Student Representative (TBA)
  • Response to Complaints
  • Remediation of Barriers
  • Documentation for Transition Plan
  • Access Maps

Accessible Digital Environment 
Formerly GOALS, then Task Force

  • Luis Menchu, Web Team
  • Heather Guevara, Distance Learning
  • Phyllis Petteys, Disability Services
  • Phyllis Petteys, Disability Services (Lead)
  • Luis Menchu, Web Manager, IT (Lead)
  • Heather Guevara, Distance Learning (Lead)
  • Gabriel Nagmay, Web Team
  • Sarah Tillery, Division Dean
  • Michael Moss, Instructional Support 
  • Kim Copley, Procurement/Purchasing  
  • Tanya Littrell, Faculty
  • John Hinman, Student Representative
  • Lisa Mollinelli, Library
  • Lisa Brandt, AT Committee lead
  • Ken Brown, Bookstore Mgr
  • ICT Policy and Plan

  • Evaluation - VPAT Repository

  • AT Committee
Accessible College Culture
  • Patricia Kepler, Disability Services
  • Policy Review



  • No labels